Thursday, July 21, 2016

29 Named to Federal Maritime Committee

By Mark Edward Nero

On July 19, US Transportation Secretary Anthony Foxx announced the appointment of 29 new members to the Marine Transportation System National Advisory Committee, and the latest additions include a handful of leaders with companies that have strong West Coast presences.

The advisory committee, established in 2010, is comprised of leaders from commercial transportation firms, ship construction, repair and recycling, trade associations, state and local public entities, labor organizations, academics and environmental groups that advise the Secretary and the Maritime Administration on policies to ensure that the U.S. marine transportation system is capable of responding to projected trade increases.

Among the 29 new additions to the committee are Thomas Wetherald, the director of business development and strategic planning for General Dynamics NASSCO; William Pennella, vice chair and executive vice president with Crowley Maritime; Susan Hayman, Vice President, Health, Safety, Quality & External Affairs, Foss Maritime; and Gregory Faust, Director of Operations with the Washington State Ferries Division of the Department of Transportation.

“The experience and insights of this group will greatly benefit the federal transportation decision-making process,” Foxx said in a prepared statement. “This advisory committee will help us take the next critical steps needed to move the National Maritime Transportation Strategy forward.” The advisory committee counsels the Secretary on solutions to impediments hindering effective use of short sea transportation and other matters as the Secretary determines. Committee members undertake information-gathering activities and develop technical advice before presenting recommendations.

MTSNAC policy recommendations have led to the expansion of the Marine Transportation System, the integration of Marine Highways into the surface transportation system and the improvement and streamlining of the Title XI ship financing process.

The committee is comprised of a total 40 members from commercial transportation firms, shipbuilding, repair and recycling companies, trade associations, state and local entities, labor organizations, academics and environmental groups.

Committee members serve two-year terms, with no more than two consecutive term re­appointments. About a third of members’ terms of office expire every two years.