Tuesday, April 12, 2016

POLA, LB Execs Join Federal Committee

By Mark Edward Nero

Port of Los Angeles Executive Director Gene Seroka and Port of Long Beach Chief Executive Jon Slangerup have been appointed by US Commerce Secretary Penny Pritzker to the federal Advisory Committee on Supply Chain Competitiveness (ASCC).

The ACSCC is tasked with advising the Secretary of Commerce, Department of Transportation and other US agencies on supply chain issues that affect the international competitiveness of US businesses.

Seroka and Slangerup are among 11 new appointees to the committee, and the only two based on the West Coast.

“I’m honored to represent the Port of Los Angeles and our stakeholders as we determine best practices to increase US exports,” Seroka said. “Our work on supply chain optimization over the past year in the San Pedro Bay port complex will add valuable insights to this committee’s efforts.”

Other new members of the ACSCC include: Jaqueline Faseler, Global Supply Chain Sustainability Director for The Dow Chemical Company of Midland, MI; Jonathan Gold, Vice President, Supply Chain and Customs Policy for National Retail Federation in Washington, DC; Walter Kemmsies, Chief Economist for Moffat & Nichol of New York, NY; Houston Mason, Director of Distribution with McCormick and Co. of Hunt Valley, MD; and Elizabeth Ogard, President of Prime Focus in De Pere, WI.

Also joining the committee are: Bethann Rooney, Deputy Director of the Port Commerce Department for The Port Authority of New York and New Jersey; Yossi Sheffi, Director of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology Center for Transportation and Logistics in Cambridge, MA; Prem William, Vice President SCI Solutions and Operations for HAVI Global Solutions in Downers Grove, IL; and Melzana Wilson, Vice President of Compliance for Mallory Alexander International Logistics in Memphis, TN.

The ACSCC, which now has 45 members, provides Obama administration officials with a series of recommendations related to developing US freight policy and plans.