Tuesday, November 18, 2014

AAPA Honors Mohr, Yoshitani

By Mark Edward Nero

The American Association of Port Authorities, which represents ports throughout the Western Hemisphere, honored three port industry leaders for their accomplishments during the AAPA’s 103rd Annual Convention and Expo, which was held Nov. 11 in Houston.

Receiving the AAPA’s “ImPORTant Service Award” was Port of Everett CEO John Mohr. Former Port of Seattle CEO Tay Yoshitani and Dr. Bory Steinberg, founder and principal of the water resources advisory firm Steinberg & Associates, and a former US Army Corps of Engineers Civil Works Program chief, received the AAPA’s Distinguished Service Award.

Recipients of the AAPA’s ImPORTant Service Award must have served with distinction and a record of outstanding leadership on one or more of the association’s technical or policy committees for at least 10 years, including two as a committee chairman, and have at least 10 years of port management experience.

Recipients of the association’s Distinguished Service Award are honored for their dedicated efforts toward the enrichment of the maritime and port industries throughout the Western Hemisphere.

AAPA President and CEO Kurt Nagle commended the three award recipients for their longstanding commitment to excellence to their port industry colleagues and for their leadership on seaport industry issues.

“Tay has been an active and highly engaged member of AAPA for many years, while leading the Maryland Port Administration (from 1995-1998), the Port of Oakland (2001-2004), and of course, the Port of Seattle,” Nagle said. Yoshitani retired from Seattle’s port in September after about seven-and-a-half years as CEO.

In recognizing Mohr, Nagle said that throughout his 33 years as a public seaport executive, Mohr has been a devoted and energetic contributor to AAPA initiatives, standing committees and programs.

“He’s always been willing to lend his experience as a conference speaker and session presider at innumerable programs and Congressional hearings, and served admirably as AAPA’s U.S. port delegation chairman in 2002-2003,” Nagle said. Mohr, who has been the Port of Everett’s executive director since 1997, is retiring in January 2015.