Tuesday, July 5, 2016

Three Confirmed to Federal Maritime Commission

By Mark Edward Nero

On June 29, the US Senate confirmed the nominations of three people to serve on the Federal Maritime Commission, the agency responsible for regulating the nation’s international ocean transport.

Those confirmed are Rebecca F. Dye, Michael A. Khouri and Daniel B. Maffei. Maffei is new to the Commission and is to serve a term that expires in 2017. Dye and Khouri, both of whom currently serve as Commissioners, were re-nominated by President Obama to serve in terms that last until 2020 and 2021, respectively.

Maffei, a native of upstate New York, served two non-consecutive terms in the US House of Representatives. His professional experience prior to being a member of Congress includes working as a journalist and a Congressional aide. He replaces Richard Lidinsky, who became a Commissioner in 2009 after along career in ports and shipping.

Dye has worked on maritime policy issues throughout her career, beginning with her service in the US Coast Guard. She subsequently held senior positions in the Maritime Administration and on the former House Committee on Merchant Marine and Fisheries, as well as the House Committee on Transportation & Infrastructure.

Khouri has broad experience in the maritime industry including service on marine vessels from deck crew to Pilot and Captain; and shoreside assignments in law, administration, marine operations and general management.

“Each of these individuals is not only committed to public service, they also take the core mission of the Commission seriously,” Federal Maritime Commission Chair Mario Cordero said in a statement. “The shipping industry is going through a period of significant change that dictates our close attention. As a body, we are going to have as much work to do as ever before, and I am grateful we have a full complement of Commissioners.”