Tuesday, January 8, 2013

Tacoma Port Commissioners Rotate Roles

The five-member Port of Tacoma Commission has named Don Meyer its president for 2013. He was elected to the Commission in November 2009 and succeeds Commissioner Dick Marzano in the commission’s lead role.

Meyer, whose current four-year term on the commission expires in December, is the former executive director of the Foss Waterway Development Authority and a former deputy executive director of the port.

Born and raised on a farm in South Dakota, he has an undergraduate degree in business from Pacific Lutheran University in Tacoma and a master’s degree in business administration from the University of South Dakota.

He’s currently is a member of the Tacoma Waterfront Association, Tacoma-Pierce County Economic Development Board and the Joint Municipal Action Committee. He also recently served on the Governor’s Connecting Washington Task Force, which reviewed statewide transportation needs.

Officer positions on Tacoma’s port board rotate annually. The commission’s full 2013 makeup consists of: Don Meyer, president; Clare Petrich, vice president; Don Johnson, secretary; Connie Bacon, first assistant secretary; Dick Marzano, second assistant secretary.