Thursday, January 6, 2011

Bellingham Port Selects New Board President

In an internal vote Tuesday, the three members of the Port of Bellingham's governing board have selected commissioner Mike McAuley to serve as the board president for 2011.

McAuley, who joined the port board for a four-year term in 2009, told the Bellingham Herald that his goal over the next year is to focus greater public outreach. McAuley was also selected to serve on the Whatcom Council of Governments board.

Port commissioner Scott Walker was selected to serve as vice president of the port board in 2011, while commissioner Jim Jorgensen was selected as board secretary.

All three will also serve in the same new officer positions on the Industrial Development Corporation Board for 2011.

Walker also was selected to serve on the boards of the Northwest Economic Council, Port Public Art Advisory Committee, and Washington Public Ports Association. Jorgensen will be on the Whatcom County Economic Development Investment Program Committee board.