Tuesday, February 20, 2018

New Longview Commission President

By Karen Robes Meeks

Jeff Wilson is the new president of the Port of Longview Board of Commissioners.

Wilson – who takes over for Commissioner Doug Averett, who was president last year – will helm the commission “in key decisions regarding Barlow Point, Willow Grove Park and the port’s Industrial Rail Corridor,” according to the port.

“It is an honor to be voted into the position,” said Wilson, who was elected to the board in 2016. “Commissioner Averett did a great job as president, and I look forward to working with my fellow Commissioners as we face the challenges and successes that are part of our business.”

Averett will serve as Board Secretary and Commissioner Bob Bagaason will be Board Vice President.