Friday, January 15, 2016

2016 Seattle Port Commissioner Officers Named

By Mark Edward Nero

The Port of Seattle welcomed its newest commissioner, Fred Felleman on Jan. 12 as he took the oath of office along with reelected Commissioner Courtney Gregoire at the latest port commission meeting. The commission officers for 2016 were also announced during the same meeting.

Commissioner John Creighton will serve as Commission President in 2016, while Commissioner Tom Albro will serve as Commission Vice President, Commissioner Stephanie Bowman will serve as Commission Secretary, and Commissioner Courtney Gregoire will serve as Assistant Secretary. Commissioner Felleman will be Commissioner-at-Large.

“It is truly an honor to be entrusted by the citizens of King County to represent them on the Seattle Port Commission,” Felleman said. “Having been part of the Seattle maritime community for two-and-a-half decades, I’m excited to bring my experience, knowledge, and deep love of Puget Sound to this organization.”

The Port of Seattle Commission has said that in 2016 it will remain focused on several issues, including: attracting opportunities for its cruise business, recapitalizing the North Pacific fishing fleet, making Terminal 5 ‘big ship ready,’ continuing environmental efforts port-wide, and pursuing further job growth through the port’s new Economic Development Department.

“We look forward to working with communities throughout King County and the state to attract more opportunities for economic development,” Commission President John Creighton said.