Tuesday, September 11, 2012

Chair Reappointed to Port Metro Vancouver Board

Craig Neeser has been re-appointed by the Governor General in Council, in conjunction with the Minister of Transport and the Nominating Committee, to the Port Metro Vancouver Board of Directors.

Neeser, who currently serves as Chair of the Board, was named to a second three-year term on Sept. 5. His new term expires Aug. 29, 2015.

Neeser is the former president of Weyerhaeuser Company Ltd, a Kamloops, Canada-based company that grows and harvests timber, plus manufactures, distributes and sells forest products. Previously, he was senior vice president with Weyerhaeuser’s International Group, and was a senior vice president when Weyerhaeuser acquired MacMillan Bloedel. He has served on the boards of directors of the Council of Forest Industries of British Columbia, University of Alberta, Global Forest Partners, Maynards and the Forest Products Association of Canada.

His past service includes Chair of the Forest Industrial Relations and of the Coast Forest Lumber Association. He holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Forestry Management from the University of Alberta.

Port Metro Vancouver’s Board of Directors is composed of 11 members: one federal appointee; a British Columbia provincial appointee; one appointee for the Prairie Provinces of Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba; a municipal appointee; and seven federal appointees recommended by port users.