Tuesday, February 14, 2012

Obama Announces Maritime Commission Nominations

President Obama announced Feb. 10 that he would nominate Richard A. Lidinsky, Jr. for another term as chair of the Federal Maritime Commissioner and also nominate William P. Doyle for his first term as an FMC commissioner.

Lidinsky was first appointed to the FMC by Pres. Obama in September 2009. Prior to joining the commission, Lidinsky had worked in the maritime trade industry for nearly 40 years, holding a number of positions in both business and government.

From 1986 to 2006, he worked for global maritime company Sea Container Ltd., where he established its Washington DC office, and was its vice president for governmental affairs. From 1975 to 1986, he worked for the Maryland Port Administration as its director of tariffs and national port affairs.

Doyle is chief of staff at the Marine Engineers’ Beneficial Association and since 2008 has also been director of permits, scheduling and compliance for the Alaska Natural Gas Transportation Projects’ Office of the Federal Coordinator.

From 2002 to 2008, Doyle was the deputy general counsel and the director of government and legislative affairs for the MEBA. And prior to joining the MEBA, he was a U.S. Coast Guard Licensed Marine Engineer from 1992 to 2001.

The Federal Maritime Commission is the independent federal agency responsible for regulating the nation's international ocean transportation for the benefit of exporters, importers, and the American consumer.